Western Bulldogs are the first team through to the Victorian Football League Women’s grand final.

The Bulldogs managed to grind out a 12-point win over Collingwood in the semi-final at Adcon Stadium in Port Melbourne on Saturday.

It was an efficient Bulldogs performance with six scoring shots from 17 inside 50s.

The Bulldogs managed to kick straight with 4.2.


Collingwood’s inefficiency proved costly with its 25 entries yielding nine scoring shots for only one goal.

The difference in the game was two goals from lively Bulldogs small forward Brooke Lochland.

Ellie Gavalas was the high possession winner for the Bulldogs with 15 disposals to go with seven tackles.

The Western Bulldogs will await the winner of the Collingwood and Southern Saints game at Adcon Stadium this Saturday.

The VFLW grand final is scheduled to take place at Ikon Park on September 22.

Meanwhile, Lauren Pearce claimed the Lambert-Pearce Medal on Monday night.

The Darebin Falcons finished on 18 votes, two votes clear of former AFLW Bulldogs star and now Richmond player Monique Conti.

Gavalas was named on the bench in the team of the year, along side Williamstown’s Danica Pederson.

Bulldogs Caroline Kilmartin was awarded the Ann Rulton Award for club volunteer of the year.