Caroline Springs’ Gayashan Weerasekara has claimed a second straight Victorian Turf Cricket Association best and fairest award.

After winning the Ray Scriven Medal last season, Weerasekara was last week named the Charles Clark Medal winner for the 2018-19 season.

Weerasekara finished on 32 votes, three clear of teammate  Nadeera Thuppahi.

Weerasekara averaged 47 with the bat this season, the third most in division 4.

He also took 25 wickets at an averaged of 10.12.

Weerasekara and Nadeera Thuppahi were both named in the team of the year.

Sydenham-Hillside premiership winning duo Ben Green and Dane Currency have capped off their seasons being named in the division 4 VTCA team of the year as well.

Currency, who captained the Storm, was named captain of the division 4 team of the year.

A stunning first season for Melton Centrals’ Waduwidanalage Rangika has seen him win the Russell Pollock Medal, for the best player in division 5.

Rangika led the division 5 bowlers, taking 40 wickets at an average of 11.25. He also averaged 35 with the bat having made nearly 500 runs for the season, the fifth most in the division.

He finished on 35 votes.


Waduwidanalage Rangika. Picture Shawn Smits.

Rangika’s premiership winning teammates Steven Robertson, Andrew Cristofaro and Bradley Coulson were also named in the team of the year.

Robertson and Crisofaro made the second and third most runs in division 5 for the season.

Melton South’s Paul Hetherington and Jonathon Caderamanpulle were also named in the team. Caderamanpulle finished equal second behind Rangika in the Pollock Medal.

In the women’s division, Sydneham-Hillside premiership winning captain-coach Catherine Morrow has claimed the Deer Park Club Medal, for the best player in the women’s competition.

Morrow finished on 27 votes.

Morrow was the clear standout with the bat in the competition, averaging 154 having made 463 runs. That was 286 runs more than the second highest run getter.

Morrow also finished second in the wicket takers, finishing with 14 wickets for the season.

Brooke Todero, who was named best on ground in the Storm’s grand final win, and Kerry Scondolera were also named in the team of the year.

Hillside’s Catherine Morrow. Picture Shawn Smits.