The Northern Football League’s women’s competition continues to grow, with a record number of teams this season.

In the third year of the competition, there will be 22 teams from 17 clubs take to the field.

Unlike in previous years, the first four rounds will be grading games with teams to be put in divisions after that.

The number of teams in each division will be determined by the results of the grading games.

Heidelberg, Hurstbridge, Reservoir and Wallan will field women’s sides for the first time.

They will replace Keilor, La Trobe University, and Whitehorse Colts, which have moved their teams to local competitions to be aligned with their men’s sides.

VU Western Spurs will field the most sides this season, with three teams, while Darebin, Diamond Creek Women’s and Montmorency will have two teams each.

Last year’s division 3 premiers Bundoora will again field a side, along with Laurimar, Mernda and South Morang.

The opening round of the season will be played over two weekends starting, with two matches on the first weekend and nine matches the following week.

Eltham will play St Mary’s in the season opener under lights on April 5, while West Preston-Lakeside will unveil its division 2 flag the next day before their men’s side kids off their season.

The rest of the grading games fixture will be released next week.

The rest of the round one fixture.

Saturday April 13
Heidelberg vs Hurstbridge

Sunday April 14
Darebin 2 vs Montmorency 2
Bendigo Thunder vs VU Western Spurs 1
Bundoora vs Diamond Creek Women’s 2
Darebin 1 vs Montmorency 1
Laurimar vs Greensborough
Mernda vs VU Western Spurs 2
Reservoir vs Wallan
South Morang vs VU Western Spurs 3