Michael McLellan has been appointed the Northern Football Netball League’s new chairman.

McLellan, who joined the board in 2016, replaces Dean Philpots who decided to step down from the board after 11 years. Philpots was chairman for the last five years.

McLellan said he was honoured to accept the chairman’s role.

“It’s an extremely big honour. It’s a league full of rich history,” he said.

“Dean certainly did a fantastic job over 11 years and is certainly a well-respected person within the Northern Football Netball League community. His knowledge of not only the league, but also our clubs, is second to none.

“They are going to be big shoes to fill and something I am looking forward to.”

McLellan said he was looking forward to working closely with clubs and stakeholders and was focused on maintaining the league’s status as a leader in the inclusion of female participation.

He has long supported female participation in sport and lists setting up junior girl’s teams at Eltham Junior Football Club as one of his greatest achievements while he was president of the club.

“The progression we have seen with women’s football and sport nationally, and for us in the Northern region, is just incredible.

“To be able to have two junior girl’s representative teams and also the senior women’s side playing representative football this year, plus the netballers, it will be great to be able to showcase our league and what we have to offer.

“It’s a really exciting time.”

McLellan has also served as Eltham’s vice-president, football operations manager, tribunal advocate and been on the club’s general committee.

Professionally, McLellan comes from a successful sales background.

Scott Walker has been appointed vice-chairman.

Walker is a qualified town planner who has worked in a range of senior jobs within councils, and currently serves as a director of city development at Banyule Council.

The other board members are, Nicolina Lademann, Bronwyn Neeson, Jeff Parkes, Diana Pettie and Stella Pruscino.