Westmeadows’ Chinthaka Jayasinghe has claimed the Tony Issacs Medal for the best player in the Victorian Turf Cricket Association division 1 west competition.

Jayasinghe, who was the standout for the Warriors this season, finished on 26 votes, three clear of St Francis de Sales Aaron Maynard, who was favourite to take out the award.

Jayasinghe took 23 wickets at an average of 12.61 having the best figures of 5-19.

He also averaged 29,15 with the bat after making 379 runs for the season.

It’s a second straight season a Warriors player has claimed a competition best and fairest award, after captain-coach Tarek Moughanie won Steve McNamara Medal for the best player in the north-west A1 last season.

Jayasinghe, who was in his second year at the Warriors, was also named in the division 1 west team of the year.

Craigieburn duo Mick Bury and Sammy Laffan were also named in the team of the year.

Westmeadows women’s captain and co-coach Danielle Linton has been named captain of the VTCA women’s team of the year for a second straight year.

Natalie Linton and Emily Law were also named in the team of the year.

Greenvale’s Rochelle Rodriques made an impact in the Kangaroos’ first season, also earning a spot in the team of the year.

In division 5, Jacana’s Sameera Vithana and Rhys Brown were both named in that division’s team of the year.