Round 22 of the Footscray Cycling Club’s 2019/20 Criterium season saw riders enjoy the fast and smooth Drake Boulevard Circuit in Altona with all prizemoney and profits going to the Bushfire Appeal.

With a fantastic turnout, the club raised over $1800 to help victims of the recent bushfires along Australia’s East Coast.

A-Grade’s race saw an incessant number of serious attacks, notably from strongmen like Travis Small, Jimmy Butler and Josh Zammit.

It finished with a hectic sprint; the last few laps a flurry of riders scrambled for a wheel trying to stay near the front.

In the end, it was 25-year-old Club Criterium Champion, Josh Zammit, who took the win a half-wheel ahead of Jason Costin and Russell Lee.

In B-grade, Stuart Darling won from Leigh Kelly in second and Tim Jones in third, with Mark Micallef taking the bunch sprint in behind.

C-Grade’s race was equally as fast and saw a mass bunch sprint in which Gerrit Prent just held off Barry Heywood and Matt Browell, with Diane Edwards taking the Women’s C race ahead of Phillip Thomas.

D-Grade saw Simon Gullery take a strong sprint win from Jerrery Moon and Oskar Van Wyss, with Emma Andrews taking Women’s D form Jill Stevenson and Kerryn Minehan

-Mark Micallef