Current and past stars from Gisborne and Kyneton have been named in the Bendigo Football Netball League teams of the decade.

The league last week announced its football and netball teams of the decade from 2010 to 2019. All named will be recognised at the league’s hall of fame dinner next week.

In the football team of the decade, there was three Gisborne and two Kyneton players named.

Tim Walsh, who returned to Gisborne this year after three years away, was named in the back pocket.

His brother Scott Walsh, who like Tim spent time away, was named on the interchange bench.

Tom Waters, who dominated in the ruck for a number of years at the Bulldogs was also named on the bench. Waters spent five years at Gisborne.

Star Kyneton midfielder Rhys Magin was named on the wing. Magin, who joined the Tigers in 2015 has been one of the best players in the competition since.

His former Tigers teammate Ben Weightman was named on a half forward flank.

Weightman spent four years at the Tigers kicking at least 42 goals in each season. He kicked 96 in his final season with the club in 2017.

In the netball team of the decade, two current Gisborne stars earned starting positions.

Gisborne captain Maddy Stewart was named at goal keeper in a strong defensive circle with Heather Oliver.

Stewart has been among the top players in the competition for a number of years, including claiming the Betty Thompson Medal last year.

Bulldogs’ Tiana Newman was named at wing defence. Newman has twice won the Betty Thompson Medal and finished second this year.

Kyneton’s Emma Webb was named on the bench.

Webb, who shared the Betty Thompson Medal in 2014, returned to the Tigers this year after a couple of years away.