Rainbow Ebert finished off a cracking season for the Bundoora women’s team, to be named the Northern Football League women’s division 3 best and fairest.

Ebert, who previously played in the Essendon District Football League, polled 24 votes to finish four votes clear of St Mary’s Jessica Hardy.

The awards night wrapped up a top season for Ebert and Bundoora. The Bulls went through their first season undefeated on the way to the premiership.

Coach Gary Moorcroft was named coach of the year and Ebert and teammates Sianne Clancy, Chloe Moorcroft, Brieanna Musgrave, Brittany Del Romano, Amy Callawy and Bridgette Taylor-Gray were named in the team of the year.

In other awards at the NFL best and fairest, Heidelberg’s Michael Brunelli and Macleod’s Lucas Hobbs took out the top honour.

They finished on 21 votes each to win the Frank Rosbrook Medal for the top men’s division 1 player.

Bundoora’s Peter Hood finished equal fourth on 15 votes. He was named in the team of the year, along with teammate Josh Grabowski.

Lower Plenty’s Patrick Flynn won the division 2 best and fairest, while Heidelberg West’s Jarryd Coulson won the division 3 best and fairest.

Thomastown’s Josh Beare, Matthew Vasilevski, Anthony Capeci and Dylan Chapman, along with Epping’s Alec Buchan and Damon Marcon were named in the division 2 team of the year.

The division 3 team of the year included Mernda’s Josh Delaney, South Morang’s Daniel Caruso, James Hewson and Bailey Brown, and Laurimar’s Josh Williamson, Mitchell Thompson and Jacson Cecil.

Mernda’s Danny-Lee Rigby won the under-19 division 2 best and fairest award.

Meanwhile, West Preston Lakeside claimed its first premiership since 2010, defeating Macleod 11.12 (78)-9.15 (69) in division 1.

The Roosters lost an early lead at the main break but regained it in the third quarter on the back of four straight goals.

They hung on as the team’s went goal for goal in the last quarter.

Roosters ruckman Mark Kovacevic was named best on ground.