More households across Whittlesea and Hume are set to benefit from the state government’s solar battery rebates.

The government recently added 80 postcodes to the solar homes program, meaning households in Mernda, Doreen, South Morang,

Whittlesea, Donnybrook, Craigieburn, Roxburgh Park, Mickleham, Kalkallo, Coolaroo and Meadow Height are now eligible for rebates.

Households in eligible postcodes can apply for a solar battery rebate of up to $4838.

To be eligible for the rebate, households must have an existing solar PV system equal or larger than 5kW, have a household income of less than $180,000 and have not taken part in the solar homes program before.

They must also work with a retailer to obtain approval for a battery from their distribution network service provider before applying for a rebate.

Solar Homes Minister Lily D’Ambrosio said the rebate expansion would enable more people to store cheaper, cleaner energy from their rooftop.

“We’re giving more Victorians the tools to take control of their energy bills and be part of our efforts to tackle climate change,” she said.