Fourteen candidates are vying to represent the three inner-west Melbourne seats being contested at the May 18 Federal election.

Australians head to the polls on Saturday to cast their vote in 151 Federal electorates, including the newly created seat of Fraser and the dramatically reshaped Maribyrnong and Gellibrand divisions – all safe ALP seats. 

Maribyrnong MP Bill Shorten, who first won Maribyrnong in 2007, has his sights set on his party taking 76 seats and forming government, paving the way for him to becoming Australia’s 31st Prime Minister.

First he must win over voters including those in Maidstone, West Footscray, Maribyrnong and the northern part of Footscray.

Shorten faces a local challenge from Sarwar Hasan (United Australia Party), James Williams (The Greens) and Christine Stow (Liberal).

Tim Watts is hoping for a third straight seat win in Gellibrand, which takes in all Hobsons Bay suburbs as well as Seddon, Kingsville, Yarraville and part of Footscray.

He is being challenged by Bernadette Thomas (The Greens), Anthony Mitchell (Liberal) and Lisa Maree Bentley (United Australia Party). 

Voters living in Braybrook, Tottenham and Brooklyn will all be voting in the new seat of Fraser, created to cater for the dramatic population increase in Melbourne’s west.

Fraser will be contested by Vinh Van Chau (United Australia Party), Peter Bain (Liberal), Daniel Mulino (ALP), Tony Dobran (The Great Australian Party), Rebecca Scorgie (The Greens) and Van Tran (Independent).

If Labor forms government Bill Shorten will be the first Prime Minister to lead Australia from the seat of Maribyrnong.