Keilor’s Sarah Wright has claimed the inaugural Western Region and Essendon District Senior Women’s Football League best and fairest award.

In just her first season playing women’s football, Wright polled 29 votes to take home the award, three votes clear of Sunbury Lions’ Simone Craige.

Wright’s twin sister, Gemma, finished third on 21 votes, making it a good night for the family.

Both of the Wrights’ have been revelations this season after making the move across from basketball and played major roles in the Blues premiership win.

Their dominance in the local competition was recognised at a higher level, with both selected to play in the first ever AFLW young guns game last month.

Players were selected in that game on the back of at least two AFLW clubs nominating them as players they wanted to look at ahead of the draft.

The top seven place getters were all from EDFL teams, with Caroline Springs Krystyn Raymundo the highest placed player from a WRFL team. She was awarded the WRFL’s best and fairest award.

Maribyrnong Park’s Zac Keogh took home the main award at the EDFL awards night.

Keogh polled 22 votes, one clear of Strathmore’s Jaryd Cachia, to take home the Reynolds Medal for the best and fairest winner in the premier division.

Pre-count favourite Greenvale’s Addam Maric finished third on 19 votes.

Maric was named in team of the year alongside teammates Nick Parthenopoulos and Jacob Thompson.

Keilor’s Dean Galea claimed the leading goal kicker award.  Not surprisingly he was named at full forward in the team of the year.

Fellow Blues’ Jason Williams and Kane Barbuto were also named in the team of the year.

Airport West’s Tyson Young claimed the Hutchinson Medal for the division 1 best and fairest award.

Young finished on 22 votes, four clear of Westmeadows’ Justin Taylor.

Taylor was named on the interchange bench in the team of the year. He was one of four Tigers named in the team of the year, along with Brad Sutcliffe, Mitch Church and Aaron Evans.

Tullamarine duo Craig Steele and Jack Sims were named in the division 1 team of the year, along with Hillside’s Victor Micallef, Brandon Coletta and Jackson Volpato.

James Vistarini was the sole Taylors Lakes player named in the team.

In division 2, Coburg Districts Luke Vesnaver took home the best and fairest medal. He finished on 24 votes, four clear of Jacana’s Michael Evans.

Evans and Cameron Cloke, who took home the division 2 leading goal kicker award, were named in the team of the year along with Justin Colliss and Billy Morrison.

Jaguars’ premiership winning coach Robert Fletcher was named coach of the year.

Others in the team of the year include Roxburgh Park’s Jack Ellott and Harley Short, East Sunbury’s Tom Cree and Tom Burnside, Keilor Park’s Peter Corredig and Burnside Heights’ Josh Covelli.