Sunbury Lions have put a big emphasis on youth development with their coaching appointments for next year’s Ballarat Football League season.

With Ben Jordan on board for a second season as senior coach, the club has put a strong team behind him.

Jordan said that from a club perspective, they were pleased to have all their coaches signed and ready to go.

Last year, Jordan wasn’t appointed until early November, while some of the other coaches weren’t appointed until early this year.

“Being the second year under myself at the club the players are already familiar with me and my approach,” Jordan said. “We’re not starting as far back as last year and I’ve formed a relationship with those guys. There’s a strong development focus and we’re putting our energy and resources into that.”

Jamie Bramble, who coached the Lions under-14s to a premiership this year and previously coached the under-18s, will be an assistant coach.

He’ll also coach one of the under-15 teams.

Rupertswood’s games record holder Nathan Webb is joining the Lions and will also be an assistant to Jordan.

Dylan Coventry has stepped up to the reserves coaching role, having been an assistant coach of that side last season.

Most pleasing for the club is having its under-18.5 and under-17 coaches appointed already.

Both these sides have struggled for playing numbers the past couple of seasons and coaches have been appointed late in the process.

Tony Lucas, who was an assistant coach for the seniors this year, will coach the under-18.5.

Jordan said Lucas, who was an under-18.5 premiership coach at Rupertswood, was the ideal man for the job.

“I don’t think there is a better credentialed under-age coach,” he said. “He’s the perfect guy to bring them through into senior football.”

Andrew Hall joins the Lions from Rupertswood and will coach the under-17 team.

The coaching news comes as the Lions continue to announce players who have re-signed for next season.

Nearly 30 players have signed on for next season, including the most recent signings, Greg Hay, Reece Wood and Mick Edwards.