Romsey’s Chris Burkett took out the Sullivan Medal as Gisborne and District Cricket Association’s best player for the 2016-17 season.

The Romsey playing captain-coach led the count for most of the night, finishing two votes ahead of Riddell skipper Mick Allen. Darren Quarrell finished third.

Burkett averaged nearly 50 with the bat and took 21 wickets for the season.

He also won the McIntyre Cup aggregate award, and was named skipper of the McIntyre Cup team of the year, with Mick Allen named vice-captain.

Premiers Gisborne had the most representatives named in the cup team, with Jason Wilson, Beau Valka and Jay King.

Others named were Riddell’s Haydn Ross, Diggers Rest Bulla’s Steven Fogarty and Quarrell, Woodend’s Michael Nalesnyik and Tom Robson, and Bacchus Marsh’s Madushanka Ekanayaka and Mili Sepala.