Altona put in a dominant batting performance to overpower local rival Yarraville in Saturday’s sub district cricket T20 round.

On a tough day for bowlers, Altona recovered from Yarraville’s strong start with the bat to eventually prevail with 13 balls to spare as it chased down the target of 129 with just one wicket lost along the way.

Yarraville won the toss and batted first, and openers Matthew Love and Matthew Harrison built a strong foundation for the innings with an 82-run opening stand.

Love was particularly damaging as he smashed 53, but when both fell in quick succession the remaining Yarraville batters struggled to go on with the job.

Harrison finished with 27, and wicketkeeper Joe Billings hit a tidy 25, but no other player reached double figures as the visitors posted 5-129 off their 20 overs.

In reply, Altona’s David Kinsella relaxed the dressing room with a stylish and at times brutal 69 not out, and his partnership with Sean Hollins (44) was the difference between the two sides.

Hollins was run out with victory in sight, but Charlie Best (12 not out) joined Kinsella to ensure the points would go Altona’s way.

The win lifted Altona to 2-1 after the first three rounds, and it hangs onto sixth place. Yarraville now has two losses for the year and will look to bounce back in a two-dayer against Preston starting this week.

Elsewhere, Williamstown’s unbeaten start to the summer continued with an 18-run win over Werribee. After being sent in on Werribee’s home deck, Williamstown lost steady wickets throughout its innings but was held together by Mitchell Streiff, who posted 65.

James Cook was important for the visitors with 38 quick runs, but regular wickets cost Williamstown a bigger score as it posted 8-142.

In reply, Werribee got off to a good start with a 56-run opening stand between Matthew Dean (41) and Adam Alifraco (26), but could not capitalise on that momentum late in the innings. Werribee closed its 20 overs on 6-124.

The win leaves Williamstown, Brunswick and Melton as the only unbeaten sides in the north west division, with the competition returning to two-day cricket from this weekend.